Enter The Garage

Garage Rock is loosely defined as a raw and primitive form of Rock ‘N’ Roll. That’s pretty spot on. I also like to think of it as Rock ‘N’ Roll in its purest form. The same words could be used to describe homebrewing.

Raw? Sure.

Primitive? I guess it depends on the brewer and their methods.

Pure? Most definitely.

Guitar, bass, drums and a microphone. Water, malt, hops and yeast. Figure out the basics, fire it up and go. You’ll likely get better and pick up a few tricks the more you play.

Many great breweries, and even more great bands, began in the garage…and many great ideas, innovations and inspired moments are conceived when one passionate person starts tinkering around with things in the garage. I’m going to work at creating more of these moments in my life. Many will involve beer.

I started homebrewing in 2007. The kitchen of the old Logan Square (Chicago) apartment that I shared with my then girlfriend became my brewery. Since then, I married that girlfriend, relocated to a house in the Chicago suburbs, moved the brewery out to the garage, and traded in malt extract for milled grain and bottles for kegs.

In this short period of a few years I’ve gotten a bit better at this whole brewing thing. I’m definitely a better brewer today than the day I began, anyway. I’ve still got much to learn and a long way to go. And I will. You can read all about it here if you like. I’ll probably also write about craft beers in general and Rock ‘N’ Roll some, too. I consider both to be saviours and inspirations and I always end up talking or writing about them sooner or later regardless. Besides, in my world, Beer and Rock go together like Bobby and Whitney. If I’m brewing up, I’m rocking out…in the garage.

Garage. Rock. Brewing.  And now you know how I named my brewhouse.

Welcome to the blog.

Leave a Reply

